Home > Uncategorized > Kabir regales me with a song from his US daycare

Kabir regales me with a song from his US daycare

May 20, 2013. I had just given Aseem a bath and Kabir wanted to follow suit, in the bathtub…now a tad small for him, but one that provides him the pleasures of a bubble bath!
After Kabir had played with his bath-time pals – starfish, sea horse and crab, I was helping him clean-up, when completely out of the blue, Kabir starts singing “I’m bringing home a baby bumblebee…” I was “shockprised” – a combination of shock and surprise, that he would remember it after so many months…almost 7-8 months since he last sang it at home or at school.
Papa: Beta, what did you sing?
K: Papa, “I’m bringing home a baby bumblebee”
P: You remember that song?!?!
K: Yes, Papa!
P: OK! That’s great. Let’s sing together!
K: No Papa. I will sing, you listen!
P: :-p
K:

I’m bringing home a baby bumblebee,
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me;
(Cups hands together as if holding a bee)

I’m bringing home a baby bumblebee,
Ouch! It stung me!
(Shakes his hands as if just stung by a bee)

I’m squishing up the baby bumblebee,
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me;
(‘Squishing’ a bee between the palms of his hands)

I’m squishing up a baby bumblebee,
Ooh! It’s yucky!
(Opens up his hands to look at the ‘mess’)

I’m wiping off the baby bumblebee,
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me;
(Wipes his hands off on himself)

I’m wiping off the baby bumblebee,
Now my mommy won’t be mad at me!
(Holds his hands up to show they are clean)

Bravo Kabir, bravo!
Kabir-Aseem Enjoying Bath-time

UPDATE: On Father’s Day, I was invited to Kabir & Aseem’s daycare for a special function. More on that in a separate post. However, during the function, Kabir and his classmates sang and play-acted the “I’m brining home a baby bumblebee” song. I asked the teachers and was informed that they had started singing this song with the students a few weeks ago. So, that’s where Kabir heard the song again after a gap of a few months. The wonderful rendition of this song, exclusively for me, was just awesome though! 🙂
BTW, Kabir did not participate in the song/act at school. He is more gregarious, more demonstrative of his skills at home or among family and close friends, than at school or in a large gathering.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

