Home > Uncategorized > Papa, you are ALMOST welcome

Papa, you are ALMOST welcome

Kabir has now started kindergarten at St. Paul school and leaves for school pretty early at 6am in the school bus. A few weeks ago, Kabir was having his breakfast and I was getting his lunch box ready. Aseem had just woken-up and was sitting next to Kabir at the table, still half-asleep. πŸ™‚ I was preparing a sandwich to send to school for Kabir, when I had the following memorable exchange with Aseem.
Aseem: “Papa, aap kya kar rahe ho?”
Papa: “Beta, mein bread garam kar raha hu Kabir ko bread aur jam bhejne ke liye. Aapko bread achi lagti hain? Chahiye?”
Aseem: “Papa, jab teacher school mein bread deti hain, tho saath mein ‘jalea’ bhi deti hain.”
Papa: “Beta, jalea kya hota hain?”
(I know enough Espanol to know that jalea means jam, but since I discourage K & A to speak Espanol at home, I asked him that question.)
Aseem: (Sounding matter of fact) “Papa, jam ko Espanol mein jalea kehte hain!”
Papa: “Oh! acha. Thank you for letting me know, beta.”
Aseem: (Feeling a sense of disappointment in my Espanol skills) πŸ™‚ “You are ALMOST welcome, Papa”
He gets down from the stool and walks away. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
I think he has heard me say ‘you are most welcome’ and was trying to repeat that, but his sense of timing and dialog delivery were just perfect, making this episode one to remember for a lifetime! πŸ™‚

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

