Archive

Archive for June 11, 2015

4-5 baar Happy Birthday

June 11, 2015 Leave a comment

Tuesday, June 09 2015
Kabir turned 5 today. We celebrated on Sat, June 06, but again got together with family for a small celebration. Towards the end of the day, Kabir came up to Guriya and I and incredulously asked “Sab mujhe 4-5 baar kyu Happy Birthday bol rahe hain?”
He was excited and took in all the attention with the bubbly enthusiasm and innocence of a 5 year old. Oh, the bliss!

Categories: Uncategorized

Burst nahi, Explode!

June 11, 2015 Leave a comment

June 01 2015
Kabir is now going to school in the bus. He leaves at 6am every morning. Aseem too wakes up before Kabir leaves for he wants to wave bye to his brother. It is then my play-snuggle time with my googly eyes. I then give him a bath and dress him for school, followed by breakfast while I prepare lunch boxes for both the brothers. Every day after he sits in his car seat, he asks his dadi for amla candy. 🙂 I drop him off at the daycare before heading to the office. This is our usual routine, with his cute and happy personality enlivening the start to the day.
This particular day, he is in his car seat waiting for dadi to bring him amla candy, and playing with his balloon dog he had gotten the previous day. Here’s our exchange:

Me: Beta, balloon ko ghar mein chod do. Aap ghar ke toys school nahi le ja sakte, aur car mein aapka balloon burst ho jayega.
Aseem: Papa, balloon burst nahi hoga, explode ho jayega! (Exaggerating with his hands for good effect)

Now, I know he is a smart and intelligent kid who doesn’t let it on, but I had never expected him to know this word, for I have not spent as much time with him as I did with Kabir, teaching him new words…in general, trying to light the fire for thirst to learn…maybe, I don’t need to. Maybe, I’m giving myself too much credit, for every child is curious and has an innate desire to learn. Regardless, I was amazed and proud in equal measure of what he had just said in perfect English.
Mera googly eyes! 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized